NHL Hockey

New Jersey Devils (24-27-10)


Thu. 2/20 Sat. 2/22 Tue. 2/25 Thu. 2/27 Sat. 2/29
vs. SJ 
W 2-1
Box | Recap
vs. Was 
W 3-2
Box | Recap
@ Det 
4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST6:30 PM CST7:30 PM EST4:30 UAE (+1)19:30 ET21:30 BRT
@ SJ 
7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST9:30 PM CST10:30 PM EST7:30 UAE (+1)22:30 ET0:30 BRT
@ LA 
1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST3:00 PM CST4:00 PM EST1:00 UAE (+1)16:00 ET18:00 BRT

700 club: Capitals' Alex Ovechkin scores for milestone goal

NEWARK, N.J. (AP) With power and a prodigious shot, Alex Ovechkin now stands where few in hockey have been.

He became the eighth NHL player to score 700 career goals, reaching the milestone in the third period of the Washington' Capitals' 3-2 loss to the New Jersey Devils on Saturday.

"It's a special moment," Ovechkin said. "When you get closer you start thinking when it's going to happen. Finally, it's over so we don't have to talk about it anymore. We're going to move on."

 MORE
Leaders
Points: K. Palmieri42
Plus/Minus: K. Rooney4
Shots on Goal: P. Subban140
PIM: P. Subban65
Win: M. Blackwood21
Shutouts: M. Blackwood3
Offense (Rank)
Goals: 163 (26)
Shots: 1886 (23)
PP%: 16.5% (23)
Penalty Minutes: 599 (6)
Assists: 277 (25)
SH Goals: 9 (4)
Standings
Metropolitan Division
  W L OTL Pts
Washington 38 18 6 82
Pittsburgh 37 18 6 80
Philadelphia 35 20 7 77
NY Islanders 35 20 6 76
Carolina 35 22 4 74
Columbus 30 19 14 74
NY Rangers 33 24 4 70
New Jersey 24 27 10 58
Full Standings
 
Defense (Rank)
Goals Against: 204 (5)
Shots Against: 1993 (12)
PK%: 81.6% (13)
Penalty Minutes: 580 (9)
Shutouts: 3 (15)
Sv%: 0.898 (25)
Injuries
Date Player Status
2/22 M. Wood Illness (day-to-day)
2/18 W. Butcher Upper-body injury - left game (day-to-day)
2/3 S. Vatanen Leg (IR)
10/1 B. Strait Concussion (IR)
Transactions
Date Player Transactions
2/23 J. Melchiori Signed as Free Agent
2/23 J. Melchiori Waived
2/21 L. Domingue Sent to minors Binghamton-AHL
2/20 D. Mermis Called up from minors from Binghamton-AHL
2/20 C. Schneider Called up from minors from Binghamton-AHL
2/20 L. Domingue Waived
2/16 N. Foote Traded w/ '20 1st-rd pick for Coleman
2/16 D. Quenneville Traded w/ '21 2nd-rd pick for Greene
2/13 N. Merkley Called up from minors from Binghamton-AHL
2/4 C. White Called up from minors from Binghamton-AHL
Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.