MLB Baseball

#62
José Ureña
ERA W-L K
4.21 7-12 126
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-3 / 206
Position: SPBorn: 9/12/1991 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Marlins (2008)


Latest News
Sep. 16 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST2:49 PM CST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)3:49 PM CT-Jose Urena improved to 7-12, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-4 on Sunday. Urena struck out four, ending the game with a 4.21 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Urena left early because of cramping in his pitching hand but is expected to make his next start. He's 4-0 with a 2.16 ERA over his last five starts dating to Aug. 19, when he was pitching under appeal of a six-game suspension he'd incurred for hitting Atlanta rookie Ronald Acuna Jr. with a fastball. He later dropped the appeal, and hasn't lost since. The cramping, Urena said, was caused by throwing too many curveballs with a new grip he's been using.
Sep. 11 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Jose Urena improved to 6-12, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 6.1 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the New York Mets 5-3 on Tuesday. Urena struck out five, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 12:38 PM PT1:38 PM MT2:38 PM CT3:38 PM ET15:38 ET19:38 GMT3:38 12:38 PM MST2:38 PM EST1:38 PM CST3:08 PM VEN23:38 UAE2:38 PM CT-Jose Urena improved to 5-12, allowing one run on four hits in 7.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 3-1 on Monday. Urena struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Jose Urena allowed four runs on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-7 on Tuesday. Urena struck out two, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 4:05 PM PT5:05 PM MT6:05 PM CT7:05 PM ET19:05 ET23:05 GMT7:05 4:05 PM MST6:05 PM EST5:05 PM CST6:35 PM VEN3:05 UAE (+1)6:05 PM CT-Urena has dropped his appeal of a six-game suspension for intentionally hitting Atlanta rookie Ronald Acuna Jr. with a pitch.
Analysis: Urena began serving the suspension Tuesday. The Marlins, fearful the Braves might retaliate, had already decided Urena wouldn't pitch against them during a four-game series later this week. Urena is expected to return at Boston on Aug. 28.
Aug. 19 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST2:20 PM CST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Jose Urena improved to 4-12, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 9.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Washington Nationals 12-1 on Sunday. Urena struck out four, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST4:29 PM CST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Urena has been suspended six games and fined an undisclosed amount for intentionally hitting Ronald Acuna Jr. of the Atlanta Braves with a pitch.
Analysis: Major League Baseball announced the penalties Thursday, a day after Urena hit Acuna on the left arm with his first pitch in the Marlins' 5-2 loss in Atlanta. The 20-year-old Acuna went into the game having homered in five straight games, including four homers in the three games against Miami - three of them leading off. The 25-year-old Urena, from the Dominican Republic, is 3-12 with a 4.74 ERA in 24 starts. Unless appealed, the suspension is scheduled to begin Frid
Aug. 10 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 3-12, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 6-2 on Friday. Urena struck out three, ending the game with a 4.74 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 3-11, allowing six runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-3 on Saturday. Urena struck out three, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 29 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Jose Urena improved to 3-10, allowing one hit and four walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Washington Nationals 5-0 on Sunday. Urena struck out five, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 2-10, allowing five runs on six hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 12-1 on Monday. Urena struck out four, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 15 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Jose Urena allowed five runs on four hits and four walks in 4.0 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 10-5 on Sunday. Urena struck out four, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 9 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Jose Urena allowed two runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Monday. Urena struck out four, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
July 4 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST1:41 PM CST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE2:41 PM CT-Jose Urena allowed three hits and two walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-0 on Wednesday. Urena struck out six, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 22 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Urena (right shoulder impingement) will return to the rotation Wednesday against the Rays.
Analysis: Though he's just 2-9 in 16 starts this season, the hard-throwing righty has pitched better than his record with a 1.19 WHIP and 75 strikeouts through 94 innings.
June 20 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 2-9, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-5 on Wednesday. Urena struck out five, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
June 15 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Jose Urena improved to 2-8, allowing three hits and one walk over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Baltimore Orioles 2-0 on Friday. Urena struck out four, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 10 12:38 PM PT1:38 PM MT2:38 PM CT3:38 PM ET15:38 ET19:38 GMT3:38 12:38 PM MST2:38 PM EST1:38 PM CST3:08 PM VEN23:38 UAE2:38 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 1-8, allowing three runs on six hits in 6.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Diego Padres 3-1 on Sunday. Urena struck out five, ending the game with a 4.59 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 5 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Jose Urena improved to 1-7, allowing four runs on 10 hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 7-4 on Tuesday. Urena struck out three, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
May 31 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Jose Urena allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Wednesday. Urena struck out six, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 25 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Jose Urena allowed four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 9-5 on Friday. Urena struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.69 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 19 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST7:41 PM CST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 0-7, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-1 on Saturday. Urena struck out two, ending the game with a 4.55 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Urena lost his eighth straight decision, with his last victory coming Sept. 20 against the New York Mets. The Marlins have lost each of his 10 starts this year and 12 straight overall to match the longest streak in club history, set by Brian Moehler from 2006-07.
May 13 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST2:05 PM CST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 0-6, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Sunday. Urena struck out five, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Jose Urena allowed three runs on seven hits in 5.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Tuesday. Urena struck out six, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
May 2 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 0-5, allowing two runs - one earned - on seven hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-0 on Wednesday. Urena struck out six, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST8:31 PM CST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 0-4, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Colorado Rockies 1-0 on Friday. Urena struck out five, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Jose Urena allowed four runs on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-5 on Saturday. Urena struck out three, ending the game with a 5.88 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 0-3, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-3 on Sunday. Urena struck out five, ending the game with a 5.57 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 4-2 on Monday. Urena struck out four, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Jose Urena allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-2 on Tuesday. Urena struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Jose Urena fell to 0-1, allowing five runs on six hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 8-4 on Thursday. Urena struck out two, ending the game with an 11.25 ERA and 2.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Mia 1 5 0 - 1 20 9 0 61.2 73 37 36 5 25 2 28 1.59 5.25
2016 Mia 4 9 1 - 3 28 12 0 83.2 91 59 57 11 29 6 58 1.43 6.13
2017 Mia 14 7 0 - 0 34 28 0 169.2 152 77 72 26 64 4 113 1.27 3.82
2018 Mia 7 12 0 - 0 29 29 1 162.1 147 77 76 19 46 8 126 1.19 4.21
Career 26 33 1 - 4 111 78 1 477.1 463 250 241 61 164 20 325 1.31 4.54

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Mia 20 13 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 9 0 0 .077 .077 .077
2016 Mia 29 17 1 3 0 0 0 0 1 11 0 0 .176 .222 .176
2017 Mia 36 48 3 5 1 0 0 2 0 28 0 0 .104 .104 .125
2018 Mia 30 44 0 2 1 0 0 1 0 31 0 0 .045 .045 .068
Career 115 122 4 11 2 0 0 3 1 79 0 0 .090 .098 .107


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1511 99 90 95.8 58.12
Slider 606 91 81 86.3 23.31
Changeup 483 93 86 89.8 18.58

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.